top of page


Area: 380 sq. miles
County Seat: Butler
Population: 7,816*

*2020 Census 


Taylor County

Taylor County was created from Macon, Marion, and Talbot counties in 1852 and named for Zachary Taylor. Taylor‘s victory in the Mexican War Battle of Buena Vista boosted him toward the presidency of the United States. Butler, the county seat, is named for another figure in that conflict, General William Orlando Butler. In addition to Butler and Reynolds, Taylor County includes the unincorporated communities of Mauk, Howard, Rupert, and Potterville. The Fall Line Sandhills Wildlife Management Area offers opportunities for hunting, geocaching, and wildlife viewing on 1,576 acres.  Taylor County is home to two motor-sports venues: a quarter-mile drag racing track, Silver Dollar Raceway; and the Taylor County Boondocks Mudtrack for trucks, ATVs, and side-by-sides.  The Taylor Peach Orchard grows over 3,600 acres of sweet Georgia peaches.

Photo Gallery

bottom of page