top of page

Taylor County

Taylor County was created from Macon, Marion, and Talbot counties in 1852 and named for Mexican War General and US President Zachary Taylor. Taylor‘s victory over Mexican forces in the Battle of Buena Vista elevated his path to the presidency. 


Butler, the county seat, is named for another figure in that conflict, General William Orlando Butler. In addition to Butler and the town of Reynolds, Taylor County includes the unincorporated communities of Mauk, Howard, Rupert, and Potterville. The Sandhills Wildlife Management Area offers opportunities for hunting, geocaching, and wildlife viewing on 2,498 acres. Taylor County is home to two motor-sports venues: a quarter mile drag-racing track, Silver Dollar Raceway, and the Taylor County Boondocks Mudtrack for trucks, ATVs, and side-by-sides. The Taylor Peach Orchard features over 3,600 acres of sweet Georgia peaches.


City of Butler


Photo Gallery

bottom of page